mind the gap

Please don't leave me!

Hearing: The tick tock of the stately clock
Wearing: same
Feeling like: It's the most wonderful time of the year

Thursday, Dec. 19, 2002

I was just over at maiarayne's, okay well not physically, but you know, and she is doing the hated task of packing. She's bummed about packing and cleaning on Christmas. So I was trying to think or one of my not so merry Christmas'. . .

I was born in Sacramento, Cali. When I was five my Dad got a job that transfered him to go to Rapid City, South Dakota. He left and we stayed in Cali 'till the house sold. We moved in Mid December. I remember it being about 60 degrees when we left and when we got to Rapid it was about -7. Yeah, it was a little cold. With all the unpacking we didn't have to go and get a Christmas tree (we always have fake ones because my whole family is allergic to pine. It get's ugly.)so our house was very un-Christmaslike. We didn't have lights up. There were boxes every where. Molly was only 2 so she got to play around and nap and do all the fun stuff, and I got to help mom unpack while dad was at work. My Dad's boss invited us over for dinner on Christmas Eve. (BTW, my dad's boss, Stef, Moved to colorado a few years later to head up something, turns out it was fleet management for the county that we would move to three years later and Dad would eventually end up working for him again)(He also sent us a sypathy card "for the loss of our pet", isn't that sweet?) When we got back, one of Dad's mechanics had stopped by and put up a tree with some lights in out living room. Mom started crying and I just went to bed. We didn't have that many presents that year. And there weren't any lights outside. But we had our Christmas dinner with Mom's parents and it was great. When Christmas is without all the hype and the lights and the ornaments, and the presents, you remember that's it's really about Jesus. If you're not a christian, then you remember that it's about spending time with your family. It's about love, and happiness, and being thankful. It's great. I love Christmas. . .

I have to remind myself of that every year. And I sound like a cheesy ABC special, but I love it. The reason for the season!

last stop | next stop

mind the gap