mind the gap

Please don't leave me!

Hearing: "This is the Night"; Clay Aiken
Wearing: Jeans and an Adams State tee
Feeling like: But I'm not going to wait when a moment can vanish so fast.

Monday, Aug. 11, 2003

I was reading in the paper this morning about kids going off into the "real world" (whatever that may be) and realizing that life isn't so great when you're just starting out. They don't realize how much debt they get into and all of a sudden there are more important things that who's throwing the best party this weekend. So the writer of this article goes on about how to prevent your child from going into bankruptcy so early. That kind of scared me.

I had to start packing today and I did a lot of thinking. Normally, when faced with a problem my first instinct is to sit back and just see where life takes me. This summer, when I've been faced with a problem my reaction was "Oh helllllll no!" I've gone after everything I wanted, and to some extent, gotten it. Anytime I wasn't happy this summer, instead of just dwelling on it and wallowing in self pity, I actually did something about it. Instead of saying that I was "fine" when people asked if if I was "okay". I bitched, I complained. "Are you doing okay? You look a little bummed out." "I'd be a lot better if my boss wasn't acting like a five year old!" stuff like that. I didn't hold back this summer and it was truly empowering! Yes, I am going back to school in a week and everyone who doesn't know me personally will think that I am coming back as the same loser I was when I left. But those who really know me, will see the difference.

last stop | next stop

mind the gap