mind the gap

Please don't leave me!

Hearing: "Fight For Your Right"; Beastie Boys
Wearing: yoga pants and a sweatshirt, it's cold and I have really gotten dressed yet!
Feeling like: What's that noise

Tuesday, May. 20, 2003

So I went to a resurant in town with a "Help wanted" sign in the window to ask about a job. The conversation with the manager went something like this:

Sopralto: Hi my name is Cour--

Manager: How old are you?

S: 19

M: Where do you live?

S: Just over there, down on South 3rd.

M: So you grew up here?

S: Yes, since I was nine.

M: Are you done with school?

S Yes, I have to go back on the 17th of August.

M: What's your work schedule like?

S: The only day I would need off is the day you're closed. So I can work whenever you want me to.

M: Yeah? What do you need Sundays off for?

S: Well I have church, and if I start working I won't get to see my parents as much, so I'd like to have at least one day to spend with them.

M: Where do you go to church?

S: Nativity Lutheran, over in Commerce.

M: Have you ever been a waitress before.

S: No, I haven't.

M: Are you a fast learner?

S: Yes.

M: Great, well I think you'd bee a good canidate to work here so if you would write down your name and phone number, I'll have my wife call you when she comes in.

Nobody's called yet, if they don't call by three o'clock tomorrow, I'm going to call, just to follow up.

I really need this job!

last stop | next stop

mind the gap